Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

 I know that almost everyone has read this book because it was pretty popular when it first came out but I didn’t read it because I thought it seemed a little silly. I honestly didn’t plan on reading this book until I spotted a really pretty used copy of it that was only 50 pence (That is around a dollar to you Americans) so I decided to see what all the fuss was about. I now regret thinking that it was silly before because this book was fantastic.

It took me two days to finish this novel and I spent an entire weekend being completely obsessed with it. I even found the movie and watched it, which I don’t recommend because the movie is horrible in comparison to the book.

It is a stand alone novel and it is about the life of Abraham Lincoln and his adventures as a vampire hunter. Basically after his mother killed by a vampire when he is a young boy Abraham Lincoln swears to kill every vampire in America and becomes a vampire hunter. The death of his mother isn’t really a spoiler since it is written on the back of the book so I didn’t really ruin it on you by telling you that. The book covers his entire life, including the events of the civil war.

I don’t know much about American history but I have been told that this book has been very well researched and it fits in well with the real Lincoln’s life story. I shall warn you though, this book is graphically gory. If you aren’t into books that have a lot of blood, guts and other things I suggest you avoid this book. If you like your books gory then you are going to love this one.

The only slightly negative thing that I have to say about this book is that I was sort of on the fence about the writing style in it. It switches between third person narration and a first person journal style of storytelling. It is well written but I just think it would have been a little better if they kept to one writing style.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads and I would have given it more if I could.

If you have read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter feel free to let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

 

3 comments on “Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

  1. “I shall warn you though, this book is graphically gory.”

    must buy 😛 Considering your slight reservations on writing style, with a 5/5 rating, think I shall get this!

  2. ryandejonghe says:

    The movie was a guilty pleasure of mine; it was a lot of fun. I may have to check out the book, too. Thanks!

  3. […] You can read my full review of it here. […]

Leave a Reply

