Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

Hex Hall

Hex Hall is about a girl called Sophie who has discovered that she is a witch. After her powers cause one too many problems she is sent to a special school for witches, shapeshifters and fairies called Hex Hall to help her control her powers. It is basically like Hogwarts but since it is in America it is very Americanized. You have the stereotypical hot guy, outcasts and groups of bitchy girls that you see in most things that are set in an American high school. Soon strange things start happening around the school and when her only friend is blamed for them Sophie tries to get to the bottom of the mystery.

This is the first of the Hex Hall trilogy and it was a real yo-yo of a book.  At the beginning I had a few problems getting into it because I viewed it as a Harry Potter rip off but after a chapter or two I started to fall in love with the school and the students in it.  My opinion of it dropped again when it started to turn into a stereotypical American teen drama. Luckily that impression didn’t last very long because I was quickly won over by the amount of twists that started popping up so I was back to loving it again.

Even though I had mixed feelings while reading this book I would happily recommend it to anyone who loves magic. The ways that powers are used in this book are pretty cool. Also another thing that I loved is that it has an openly lesbian character in it and personally I love seeing LGBT characters in fiction.

Basically if you like Harry Potter and Mean Girls then you would love this book.

I was going to give this book a 4 starts or less on Goodreads until I was smacked in the face by the ending and that made me bump it up to a 5 out of 5 stars. Thinking back now that I have recovered from the ending I would give is a 4.5 out 5 stars. 

If you have read Hex Hall feel free to let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

3 comments on “Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

  1. Lillie says:

    Great review! Everybody really seems to enjoy this book! I’m glad you enjoyed reading this one although I feel like I’m the only one left now who hasn’t read the book yet 🙂

  2. tomupton33 says:

    Reblogged this on The Thirst of Tantalus.

  3. […] For this I picked Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins. In case you don’t know, Rachel Hawkins also wrote Hex Hall, which is another brilliant YA book. I wrote a review for it here. […]

Leave a Reply

