Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet_final_USA-Today1 Scarlet is the second book in the Lunar Chronicles series. Like the first book, Cinder, Scarlet is a retelling of a classic fairy tale, this time Little Red Riding Hood, but set in the distant future. The book still continues the story of Cinder the cyborg but it also focuses on a new character, Scarlet, whose grandmother has gone missing. She joins forces with a mysterious street-fighter named Wolf in order to track down her grandmother and get answers.

I LOVED this book and I am so glad that I decided to continue the series after having mixed feelings about Cinder. Unlike Cinder this novel isn’t predictable at all. In fact I actually found myself surprised by parts of it. The character Scarlet is a brilliant female lead. She’s a fiery red-headed pilot and farmer who carries a gun with her at all times. One thing that I love about the Lunar Chronicles is that none of the female lead characters are particularly girly. This is really unique as they are based on characters who are usually considered girly, but in this series Cinderella is a grubby mechanic who has no interest in going to balls, and Little Red Riding Hood spends her time in jeans and a red hoodie. They are rough, realistic and can take care of themselves. There are no damsels in distress in this series.

Wolf is probably my current book crush. I have a soft spot for big, tough, dangerous looking guys, who are basically big cuties, and he ticks all of those boxes.

Since the first book Cinder has also grown as a character. She is much more interesting in this book than she was in the first one. I no longer find her boring.

I have been recommending this series to everyone I know since I became hooked on this book. I have also been trying to track down cheap hardback copies of the books because the covers are absolutely gorgeous. I need them in my collection. I also started reading Cress the day I finished Scarlet. The reading break I planned to have until City of Heavenly Fire comes out simply isn’t happening.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 on Goodreads.

If you have read Scarlet feel free to let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

(Read my review on Cinder here)

2 comments on “Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

  1. […] you want to read my full reviews of Scarlet and Cress they are here and […]

Leave a Reply

