Up-Coming Releases That Get Me Excited

Here is a list of a few of the books I am looking forward to reading in the next year or so. A lot of this list will be sequels to other books because everyone is writing a series now-a-days.

Squeal by Enoch St. John

21988943Squeal is a stand-alone novel by Enoch St John. All I know  is that it is about a group of teenage delinquents who are sent to an island for a rehabilitation camp. When they arrive on the island they discover that it is home to a giant, man-eating boar. This novel sounds strange but the cover and the simple title caught my attention. I’m curious about how this book goes so I will be giving it a read once it is released, which should be very soon.

Release date: 20/06/2014

 

The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

1400006477000-BLOOD-OF-O-final-cvrThis is the fifth book in the Heroes of Olympus series by Rick Riordan. I caught up with the Heroes of Olympus series back in January and I absolutely loved it and I cant wait for this final book in the series.

The series is a continuation of the Percy Jackson series but this time it includes another camp of demigods who parents are Roman gods instead of Greek. You have to read the Percy Jackson series before you can read this one though. I know some people can be a little put off by the fact that these books are listed as teen novels  instead of young adult but it isn’t childish. If you love mythology and history I would recommend you give this series a go. I’m 25 years old and I love these books, but that might be because I am a mythology nerd.

Release date: 07/10/2014

 

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

15768409Oh I cant describe how badly I want this book. It is the third and final installment of the Mara Dyer series, which is an absolutely brilliant series. This series can be prone to a lot of twists and turns so I cant tell you that much about it.

It is about a girl called Mara who wakes up in hospital to discover that she has survived an accident that killed her friends. Mara has no memory of what happened so she starts trying to piece things together. This series is brilliantly written. Mara suffers from hallucinations and the series is written from her perspective so you find yourself unsure what is actually real or not as the story goes on. It’s brilliantly creepy and dark, so if you like your books a little dark and twisted I would give this series a read.

Release date: 4/11/2014

The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare and other authors

tbcThis is probably the book I am looking forward to the most this year. This is a collection of short stories about the life of Magnus Bane, who is a character  from both the Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series. He is also my favourite character in all of those books.

These stories were released online individually but I was unable to get copies of them for myself. Luckily they have decided to bind the stories into this single hardback book that will be available in bookshops.

I refuse to give out spoilers but I will say that I got a little excited when this book actually made an appearance in City of Heavenly Fire.

We finally get to find out why he was banned from Peru!

Release date: 11/11/2014

What books are you looking forward to this year?

Leave a Reply

