Divergent by Veronica Roth

I wasn’t going to write a review for this book but I haven’t written a review in ages and I don’t want to be one of those people who only write nice reviews. Also I know this book is very popular and I didn’t like it at all, but this is my blog and my review so I can write what I like, even if people don’t like what I have to say.

I read Divergent recently because I saw the film a few months ago and found it disappointing. I heard so many good things about this book that I simply thought that maybe only the film just wasn’t good and it was one of those books that was ruined by the film adaption. I was wrong. This book was as disappointing as the film, so much so that I couldn’t bring myself to finish it.

In case you dont know what it is about here is the synopsis from Goodreads:

“In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.”

The main problem I had with Divergent was the main character, Beatrice/Tris. She is very bland and has little to no character development. I get that she is from selfless Abnegation, but that doesn’t mean that she has to be void of personality all together. She is constantly doing things because other people are doing it. She even goes as far as to get a tattoo simply because she is with people who are getting tattoos and the tattoo artist starts talking to her. The last time I checked that isn’t how you are supposed to decide to get a tattoo that will be on your body for the rest of your life. I hoped that maybe she was dull because of her old fraction so I kept reading but once again I was wrong. She continued having no personality throughout the majority of the book. She also seems incapable of thinking for herself. Most of the time she is thinking about what her family, friends or people in her fraction would think or what they would expect her to do. The best way to sum the book up  is that it is like someone put Bella from Twilight into the Hunger Games.  And it isn’t just Tris, every character, except the male lead (No surprise there), has no character development or depth whatsoever.

Another problem I had with this book is the world it is set in. On the surface the idea of splitting people up according to their personalities sounds alright but the more information I found out about the world and how things work the more angry I got. It didn’t make sense and would never work if it was applied in real life. Also, unlike the Hunger Games, there is no history to explain why we apparently decided to split everyone up. I could go into details but I dont want to give out any spoilers.

I know this book is popular and some people are probably going to leave comments disagreeing with me but everyone is entitled to their own opinion. In fact if you like Divergent feel free to tell me why you like it, I would like to hear your opinion, and if you agree with my review and want to point out other faults feel free. Like I said, everyone has their own opinions on books, and if we didn’t book reviews wouldn’t be interesting.

 

2 comments on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. cellenbogen says:

    You’re right. It’s your blog. I hope to read more reviews – both positive and negative. I have this book on my ‘to read’ list and will certainly post my review either way.

  2. Kat Silver says:

    You’re definitely right, your blog and you can post what you like which I think is great! I actually laughed as I finished reading because, yes… I am going to disagree with you, not in a mean way at all, just sharing my opinion.
    In many ways I do agree with you, Tris (in the beginning) does follow what others are doing, she does overthink and consider what others will think of her before she does anything but in the second and third book as well as late into the first she does, I feel, become her own person, more so than what she was in the beginning.
    You stated that another problem was the world that it was set in, that it doesn’t make sense…most YA fiction and dystopian is a little far fetched, the world is strange but in many ways it draws readers to the book.
    The history (without spoilers) does come in and plays a large role in the remainder of the series which ends up making the books a lot more interesting.
    I personally enjoyed Divergent, you are entitled to your opinion and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, very interesting to know how you saw it.
    I can’t wait to read more of your reviews, I’m sure they will be just as interesting as this one.
    Can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

