I Did It! (Camp NaNoWriMo 2014)

2014-Participant-Vertical-BannerI MET MY WORD GOAL FOR CAMP NANOWRIMO 2014!!

I am no where near finished the story that I was writing for it but at least the Camp gave me the kick up the backside I needed to start focusing and get writing. I even managed to reach my goal with only one writing related break down. I discovered that the trick to avoid triggering any meltdowns was simply not to think too much. If I found myself dwelling on thoughts that would usually send my mood downward I would simply try to think about something else or work on a different part of my novel or focus on writing notes.

If any of you are interested in writing and have toyed with the idea of writing a book I would highly recommend trying out the different NaNoWriMo challenges. They happen throughout the year, the next one should be in November which is the big NaNoWriMo challenge where you have to try to meet a target of 50,000 words. If that is too daunting for you you can try out the Camp NaNoWriMo challenges that happen during the months of April and July. During Camp NaNoWriMo you have the ability to set your own word targets so they can be less than the potentially terrifying 50,000 word goal that the normal NaNoWriMo has in November.

I am planning on attempting the normal NaNoWriMo challenge in November, but we will deal with that when we get to it. Right now I have to catch up on my reading because I am four books behind schedule  for my reading challenge for this year because I have been so busy writing. I am currently a third of the way through Ready Player One by Ernest Cline and I will post a review for it once I am finished it.

Did you enter Camp NaNoWriMo last month? If so let me know how you did in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

