Up-Coming Releases: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

1402928540000-The-Fairest-cover This is one for the fans of the Lunar Chronicles, it has been announced that a new book in the series will be released in January 2015. If you are a fan of this series like I am you will finally have something Lunar Chronicles related to read while waiting for the final book, Winter, which isn’t out until November 2015. It is a long time to wait, and I don’t know about you but I am starting to go a little mad due to Lunar Chronicles withdrawal.

Unlike the rest of the books Fairest does not follow the plot of the series, it is a prequel companion novel that tells the story of Queen Levana and her rise to power. As much as I dislike Levana, because she is the villain and everything, I am really looking forward to this book. Villains are always interesting characters so a book that explains her origins and motives sounds fascinating. Also going by the synopsis that has been recently released for this book she was not always evil. So what turned into a power hungry bitch who sets toddlers on fire? We also might find out a little more about Winter in the process of reading this book as well.

I could spend all day trying to think up theories on what is going to happen in this book and what it was exactly that turned Levana into the evil queen of fairy tales she is today. If I were to try to come up with a theory I would say that it probably has something to do with love. It is usually something love related that turns people cold. Maybe she was betrayed or maybe she lost someone and simply snapped. I suppose I will have to wait until January to find out.

If you are looking forward to this book and have any theories on Levana feel free to let me know. I would love to hear your theories.

4 comments on “Up-Coming Releases: Fairest by Marissa Meyer

  1. This post reminds me even more how I must start the Lunar Chronicles. I even had the first book in my hand one day, before I went off with Dorothy Must Die (another fairy tale rendition, and one that was only okay). I wish I had started this series instead, but I must do it soon!

    • Book Mage says:

      If you like fairy tale renditions you will love the Lunar Chronicles. It is probably the best fairy tale series that I have read. I have heard of Dorothy Must Die but I havent read it, mainly because I wasnt sure if it sounded any good or not. I have even managed to convince men that I know to read the Lunar Chronicles and they have loved it, which is sort of impressive since boys usually arent into fairy tales. I couldnt recommend it more, especially if you like badass ladies.

      • Ooh, now I’m definitely going to read it! Thanks!

        Dorothy Must Die was merely okay. The back cover was very misleading, though, because it was more the plot for the whole series than just the one book.

      • Book Mage says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        I remember reading the back of Dorothy Must Die and thinking it sounded ok rather than a must read book. I havent heard of a book having the plot for the whole series on the back cover before. That is false advertising, they shouldnt be allowed to do that.

Leave a Reply

