Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ready_player_one_magnumHow many 80s references can you fit into one book? According to Ready Player One, a Lot. Set in a future where the trends and media from the 1980s have become popular again, Ready Player One follows Wade Watts on his quest to find The Egg, an easteregg that has been programmed into a virtual reality video game called OASIS. After the death of the creator of OASIS it is declared that whoever finds The Egg will inherit his billion dollar estate. Gamers begin hunting desperately for The Egg and when Wade finds a clue that might lead to the whereabouts of it he quickly finds both his virtual and real life in danger.

If you love classic video games, are a gamer or like anything relating to the 1980s you will probably love this book. I’m not very into video games so I didn’t find it as interesting as I think other people would. That is just due to personal taste and preference though.

I found the main character, Wade, a little annoying. He locks himself away to game for months at a time and is completely disconnected from the real world. Also his love interest falls under the Manic Pixie Dream Girl trope, which always seems to pop up in this kind of novel. I couldn’t bond with Wade at all, he was sort of flat to me at times, and of course the only time he shows any proper emotion is when it is relating to Miss Manic Pixie Dream Girl. It is one of those books where every character is more interesting than the main character.

I never thought I would say this about a book, but this would make a better movie than a novel. Video games are very visual and I found it difficult to picture different settings in the book because the description is rather basic. I understand that it can be difficult to describe a video game scenario so that is why I think this should be made into a film. It would be so much better. Luckily a script for a film of Ready Player One is currently in the works with Warner Bros.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. It lost points due to poor description and the fact that I spent most of the book wanting to slap Wade. If you like Scott Pilgrim and those sorts of nerd boy books you will probably like this. It just didn’t appeal to my own personal taste.

2 comments on “Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

  1. Joachim Boaz says:

    Despite, perhaps, not how you live your live this type of character “He locks himself away to game for months at a time and is completely disconnected from the real world” is not only ultra common in real life but also a staple of SF — Neo in The Matrix for example…

  2. […] novel last year I thought it was seriously lacking in some ways. You can check out my full review here. I am looking forward to seeing the film though. One of my main problems with the novel was that it […]

Leave a Reply

