How to Make Butterbeer

Glasses_of_Butterbeer

 

Hi Everyone!

I am having a Harry Potter marathon party this weekend in preparation for my trip to Florida and Universal Studios in October so I am making mountains of Harry Potter sweets and treats from scratch. Sadly every frog mold I could find online cost a fortune so I had to buy official, more expensive, chocolate frogs from the shop. On the plus side, it means that I get actual chocolate frog cards for my party. Bertie Botts Every Flavour Beans also had to be bought. I’m a good  cook but not good enough to make vomit flavoured jelly beans.

I thought I would share my recipe for Butterbeer so you can make it at home for your own Harry Potter themed party or simply for the moments when you feel like having a tankard.

I will be using American measurements because I’m too lazy to be bothered with scales.

The Recipe

The recipe will make 4 servings.

You will need:

1 cup of brown sugar

4 tablespoons of butter

3/4 cup of heavy cream.

1/2 teaspoon of salt

Cream soda.

How to put it all together: 

  1.  In a small saucepan mix the brown sugar with 2 tablespoons of water and bring it to a gentle boil. After a minute of cooking take it off the heat.
  2. Add the butter, salt and 1/4 cup of the heavy cream. Stir until the mixture is smooth.
  3. Leave the mixture to cool down to room temperature.
  4. Once it is cool mix together the remaining cream and the butter/sugar mixture
  5. To serve add 1/4 cup of the mixture to a glass and fill the rest of the glass with cream soda. It might need a stir to get it to combine fully.

Optional:

To make your butterbeer alcoholic add butterscotch schnapps.

I have made this a few times and it always turns out delicious. I shall warn you that it is prone to being very foamy so add the cream soda slowly, unless you want butterbeer all over your kitchen counter.

 

I might upload a few photographs of my Harry Potter weekend. I will be going in costume as Tonks (Dont call me Nymphadora) and it should be a lot of fun spending two days watching all eight Harry Potter films. Do you think I should do more food related posts like this one? Maybe cauldron cakes next time? Or acid pops?

2 comments on “How to Make Butterbeer

  1. […] have posted by recipe for butterbeer here but if you want any recipes for the other snacks feel free to leave me a comment telling me which […]

  2. […] Potter marathon party I threw last year. (See the post about it here and my Butter Beer recipe here) I’m also quite prone to having bookish adventures, like running around Baker Street or […]

Leave a Reply

