Top Books for Halloween 2014

I was feeling the Halloween spirit so I decided to write about the books I am planning on reading this Halloween season.

Horns By Joe Hill

hornscoverIgnatius Perrish’s girlfriend has been murdered and he is the only suspect. On the first anniversary of her death, Ig spends the night drunk and doing horrible things. When he wakes up the next morning he has a horrible hangover, and two horns growing out of his head. Ig discovers that he possesses a terrible new power to go with his set horns and he plans to use that power to find the monster who killed his true love.

I am currently reading this book and I plan to have it finished by Halloween when the film comes out. I will write a few review of it later but I can tell you that this book is twisted, funny and very dark. It is also an adult novel so it might not be suitable for those who prefer the YA or teen genres. I would highly recommend it though.

The Ring by Koji Suzuki

609009After four teenagers mysteriously die in Tokyo a reporter decides to launch his own personal investigation into their deaths. The case leads him to uncover a cursed video tape that will kill anyone who watches it within seven days.

This is the book the film The Ring was based on. I am yet to read it but I have been told by a friend that it made her feel like a small child who was afraid of the dark. This book can be difficult to find in shops but I have ordered a copy from Amazon and I hope to get it soon. Just like Horns this is an adult book so it might not be suitable for younger readers.

Asylum by Madeleine Roux

13597728When 16-year old Dan’s summer program for gifted students is moved to the wing of an abandoned psychiatric hospital he and his friends discover the hospital’s dark past and secrets that are somehow connected to their own lives.

If you like Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children you will like this book. It contains images that are based on photos taken from the inside of old mental hospitals. I’m yet to read this book but the darkness of the story and the promise of creepy pictures are just perfect for the Halloween season. This book is a YA novel so it isn’t as scary as the other books on this list.

What are your favourite horror novels? I would love some recommendations. 

Leave a Reply

