REVIEW: The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan

kc-1-red-pyramid-coverSummary:

From GoodReads.com:

“Since their mother’s death, Carter and Sadie have become near strangers. While Sadie has lived with her grandparents in London, her brother has traveled the world with their father, the brilliant Egyptologist, Dr. Julius Kane.

One night, Dr. Kane brings the siblings together for a “research experiment” at the British Museum, where he hopes to set things right for his family. Instead, he unleashes the Egyptian god Set, who banishes him to oblivion and forces the children to flee for their lives.

Soon, Sadie and Carter discover that the gods of Egypt are waking, and the worst of them —Set— has his sights on the Kanes. To stop him, the siblings embark on a dangerous journey across the globe – a quest that brings them ever closer to the truth about their family and their links to a secret order that has existed since the time of the pharaohs”

Review:

From the author behind the Percy Jackson series, The Red Pyramid is the first book in a trilogy based around ancient Egyptian mythology. In my opinion this book lacks the magic that keeps everyone glued to the Percy Jackson and The Heroes of Olympus series. It is hard to put my finger on exactly what the problem was with this book but to put it simply, I just found it hard to care.

The characters in this book are difficult to relate to or bond with so I didn’t find myself rooting for anyone while reading it. The one character that I thought I would like had a brilliant first appearance but then plateaued when it came to development and didn’t do anything interesting for the rest of the book. It also lacked the level of humour that is in both Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus. It had its funny moments but nothing that made me laugh out loud while reading or fall in love with a character. In fact this book holds the record of being the book that made me doze off the most while reading it. It was hard to keep my eyes open as I battled through it.

Saying that though, Red Pyramid had its good moments. The depiction of the Egyptian gods was brilliant and the logic their world worked on was well thought out. Also the end of the book almost tempted me to keep reading the series. I doubt I will be finishing the rest of this series.

Rating:

I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars on GoodReads. Overall this book can be summed up as “Meh!” or in my case “Zzzzzz!”

tumblr_ne3u2fBMtZ1rq45r5o1_500

 

If you have read The Red Pyramid do you agree with my review? What did you think of it? 

Leave a Reply

