REVIEW: Horns by Joe Hill

hornscoverSummary:

Ignatius Perrish’s girlfriend has been murdered and he is the only suspect. On the first anniversary of her death, Ig spends the night drunk and doing horrible things. When he wakes up the next morning he has a horrible hangover, and two horns growing out of his head. Ig discovers that he possesses a terrible new power to go with his set horns and he plans to use that power to find the monster who killed his true love.

Review:

This was one of my Halloween reads for this year and it certainly delivered on the dark factor. I thought it was fantastic. It was grim, funny and heartbreaking all at the same time. You really feel for the main character Ig and his heartbreak and anger over the death of his girlfriend.

I think one of my favourite things about this book are the little details that are added into the background, like how the brand of matches he uses are “Lucifer matches” or how there always seems to be suitable songs playing in the background, like Sympathy for the Devil. I have to admit, it made me go and download a few songs to listen to while I worked my way through this book.

The sense of humor in the novel is very dark and crude. I wouldnt recommend this book to anyone who is sensitive about sexual things or strong language. It can be a little graphic and crude.

The only small flaw I saw in the book was the ending. I’m not going to spoil it. It is just one of those endings that leaves you asking a lot of questions, which isn’t entirely a bad thing. It gets you thinking.

Rating:

This book is definitely one of my favourite books of this year, so much so that I wore my own set of horns to go see the film in the cinema on Halloween. I also plan on checking out more books by Joe Hill. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. It is certainly going to be added to the list of books that I constantly throw at people to read. Luckily it isn’t a very long book so it shouldn’t cause that much damage when I hurl it.

3 comments on “REVIEW: Horns by Joe Hill

  1. […] You can read my full review here. […]

  2. […] Horns was one of my favourite reads of last year so I have been itching to get my hands on more of Joe Hill’s horror novels. His novels are very adult so maybe you should avoid them if you are a bit young and overly sensitive. You can read my review of Horns here. […]

  3. Thanks for your marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed
    reading it, you’re a great author. I will make sure to
    bookmark your blog and will eventually come back in the future.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

