My Favourite Reads of 2014!

2014 has been a fantastic reading year. When I was choosing the books to feature in this post I was surprised how many of them I would now consider to be my favourite books or series’ and I have only read them in the last year or so. It makes me super excited for 2015 and the books that will come along with it.

 6. Abraham Lincoln, Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

 This is a stand alone novel and it is about the life of Abraham Lincoln and his adventures as a vampire hunter. After his mother killed by a vampire when he is a young boy Abraham Lincoln swears to kill every vampire in America and becomes a vampire hunter.  The book covers his entire life, including the events of the civil war.

I was not planning on reading this book, I picked it up in a charity shop for fifty pence, but it was a brilliant find. It is funny, gory, action packed and well written. It is also an adult novel with lots of graphic gory scenes so I would stay away from it if you are a little squeamish about messy descriptions.

You can read my full review of it here.

5. Horns by Joe Hill

hornscover

Ignatius Perrish’s girlfriend has been murdered and he is the only suspect. On the first anniversary of her death, Ig spends the night drunk and doing horrible things. When he wakes up the next morning he has a horrible hangover, and two horns growing out of his head. Ig discovers that he possesses a terrible new power to go with his set horns and he plans to use that power to find the monster who killed his true love.

This book was a bit of an obsession of mine while I was reading it. I even downloaded all of the songs mentioned in it and I wore my own set of horns to see the film. If you want a book that will make you laugh and break your heart at the same time this is one for you. I will warn you though that this is another adult book, it is full of strong language and sexual content so it is not suitable for younger readers.

You can read my full review here.

4. The Heroes of Olympus Series by Rick Riordan

heroes-of-olympus-series1This series takes place after the events of the Percy Jackson series so if you want to read this I would recommend that you go read the five Percy Jackson books first. I don’t care if you think you are too old for teenage novels, go read these books. If you love Greek and Roman mythology these books are a must have.

In this series Percy and his group of fellow Greek demigods team up with a group of Roman demigods to save the world. All of the characters a bit older than they were in the first series which makes them a bit more interesting. Also unlike the Percy Jackson series there is no set lead character in this series because it is told from the view points of different characters.

The sense of humor in all of Rick Riordan’s books is fantastic, the story is great, the characters are relatable and it teaches you about mythology all at the same time. What more could you want?

3.  The Mara Dyer Series by Michelle Hodkin

983940_origThis book series is so full of twists and turns that I cant tell you exactly what the series is about. All I can tell you is that it is about a girl called Mara who wakes up in hospital to discover that she has survived an accident that has killed her friends. Mara has no memory of what happened so she starts trying to piece things together while struggling with PTSD and hallucinations.

If you want to read something that is creepy, dark, full of twists and makes you really question what is going on I would give this series a read. The story is also told of Mara’s point of view so you find yourself feeling as frustrated and confused as she is. I love books that force you to feel the emotions of the characters so this series was simply perfect. It probably would have been number one on this list but I was disappointed that the third and final book lacked some of the creepiness that I really enjoyed about the first two.

2. The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare and Other Authors

tbcThis is a collection of short stories about the life of Magnus Bane, who is a character  from both the Mortal Instruments series and The Infernal Devices series.

Magnus Bane was probably the reason why I kept reading some of Cassandra Clare’s books. I love the world of the Shadowhunters but personally I feel like The Mortal Instruments series should have ended at book three, but that could be a whole post in itself. The Infernal Devices series though was fantastic.

Anyway, if you like Cassandra Clare’s novels like I do and you love Magnus you need to check this book out. The stories are brilliantly funny, action packed and emotional. Also each story starts with its own comic panel which is an interesting little addition to the book.

1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

UntitledBadass ladies, aliens, a fairy tale retelling in outer space, cyborgs, missions to rescue prince charming, hackers and talking space ships, there are hundreds of reasons why this series is my number one choice for this year.

If you remember my review of Cinder months ago (here it is!) you will remember that I wasn’t really sold on the first book but I am so glad that I kept reading because Scarlet got me completely hooked and then this series ended up becoming my addiction for the rest of the year. It is so good that I am willing to put it on my list of favourites, that includes the likes of Harry Potter.

If you haven’t read this series yet I would highly recommend it, even if you are a manly man who thinks he’s too manly to read fairy tales. I told my boyfriend to read it and he is now just as addicted as I am.

If you want to read my full reviews of Scarlet and Cress they are here and here.

What was the best book you read in 2014?

One comment on “My Favourite Reads of 2014!

  1. […] is almost over already?! I feel like I just finishing writing my 2014 list of favourites.  I suppose time flies when you are reading great books, so here, in no particular order, are some […]

Leave a Reply

