REVIEW: Ring by Koji Suzuki

609009Summary:

After the mysterious death of his niece, a hard working journalist, Asakawa, sets out to investigate. He discovers a video tape that kills its viewers exactly one week after they watched it. Can Asakawa uncover the mystery of the tape in time to save himself and his family?

Review:

If you have seen the American film version of The Ring forget everything you know about it because the novel is completely different.

This is a Japanese novel that has been translated into English. It is the first in a series of books but from what I have heard about the other novels in the series it is best to just stick to reading the first book because the rest are a bit of a let down.

Ring is fast paced, interesting and downright creepy at points. You can really feel the urgancy and desperation of the main character to try to save himself and his family. The story of Sadako gets increasingly heartbreaking as the novel goes on.

The only real problem I had with this book is that I felt like it could have been scarier. I had been told before I read it  that it was terrifying but personally I didn’t find it that scary, which is a shame because I was in the mood for a properly frightening novel. I suppose I just have a very high tolerance for scary things.

I will warn anyone who is planning on reading this book that it is an adult novel. It has very strong sexual themes and it has references to rape and abuse, so if you are sensitive to that I would either give this book a miss or just keep that in mind when you are going into it.

Rating:

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. It lost points simply because I felt like it could have been more frightening. I would still recommend it to anyone who fancies reading a good creepy book.  If you have read this book feel free to let me know what you thought of it. Did you find it scary?

2 comments on “REVIEW: Ring by Koji Suzuki

  1. […] You can read my full review of The Ring here. […]

  2. […] deep and usually much more frightening than western horror. I love the films and, since reading The Ring, I love the novels […]

Leave a Reply

