REVIEW: Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

17026_413852478709121_1163712783_nSummary:

A dead man on the back seat of a car, and warm milk from a farmhouse, an ancient little girl, and an old woman who saw the moon being made; a beautiful housekeeper with a monstrous smile; and dark forces woken that were best left undisturbed.

They are memories that are hard to believe, waiting at the edge of things. The recollections of a man who thought he was lost, but now, perhaps, remembering a time he was saved…

Review:

I’m sorry for the rather strange and vague summary but this book is one of those books that are just better when you don’t know what to expect when you dive into it so I copied the summary from the back of my copy of the book.

This is an adult fantasy stand alone novel, and I absolutely loved it. It was dark, creepy and has that sort of magical realism that makes you think that it could all be possible. The best way to describe this book is, Coraline for grown ups.

I loved the characters, especially the Hempstock family. I actually hope that Gaiman writes another book about them because they were simply magical, in every sense of the word, and I need to learn more about them.

The only thing that disappointed me about this book was that I was told before I read it that it was really scary, but personally I didn’t find it scary at all. I thought it was more creepy than truly scary. There were a few scenes in it that made my skin crawl but nothing that I found really terrifying.

Unlike other adult books that I have reviewed lately I think this book is pretty safe for YA readers. It isn’t too graphic and it doesn’t contain strong sexual references or scenes.

Rating:

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. If you love a good fantasy novel that is easy to read and sucks you up into it I would certainly give this book a go. The writing style is simple but gorgeous and everyone needs a book that will make their skin crawl now and then.

I’m still on the hunt for a book that can actually scare me. Any suggestions?

4 comments on “REVIEW: Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

  1. Neil Gaiman is the best! Thanks for sharing!

    • Book Mage says:

      He is fantastic! I cant wait to read his new book Trigger Warning. I have a copy waiting for me to start it 🙂

  2. […] book. I wrote a view of this book earlier in the year and you can check out the full thing here.  This is a dark fantasy novel that can be best described as Coroline for adults. That does not […]

  3. […] Brilliantly written and wonderfully creepy you should check this book out if you have not read it yet. To read my full review click here. […]

Leave a Reply

