REVIEW: The Guest Cat by Takashi Hiraide

9780811221504Summary:

From GoodReads.com:

“A couple in their thirties live in a small rented cottage in a quiet part of Tokyo; they work at home, freelance copy-editing; they no longer have very much to say to one another. But one day a cat invites itself into their small kitchen. It leaves, but the next day comes again, and then again and again. Soon they are buying treats for the cat and enjoying talks about the animal and all its little ways. Life suddenly seems to have more promise for the husband and wife the days have more light and color. The novel brims with new small joys and many moments of staggering poetic beauty, but then something happens .” 

Review:

Books don’t come much shorter and sweeter than The Guest Cat. At just over 100 pages this novel is a quick and easy read that you could polish off in one sitting if you wanted to. If you love cats and beautifully written prose then this is a book you should definitely check out. 

The plot of the book is pretty simple and basic but I think the main focus is on how the book is written. Everything is beautifully described, from the gorgeous scenery to the painstakingly described human emotions. Though I suppose that is what you get when you are reading a book written by a poet. They are going to hurt your feelings and describe it perfectly to you while they do so.

Personally I thought that more could have happened in this book. It was beautiful but plot and character wise, I thought more could have happened. Everything was sort of predictable and ordinary, but maybe the writer was going for well described ordinariness. I would still recommend it to any cat lover in the mood for a short and simple book.

It also made me realize that Chibi is a fantastic name for a cat! I need a Chibi in my life, preferably a tiny cat so it would actually be a chibi Chibi.

Rating:

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. I will admit that I am tempted to read this book again. It wasn’t my favourite book in the whole world but it is a sweet and beautifully written one that I could fly through if the notion took me. If you like cats you should check this out.

 

Leave a Reply

