Book Haul!

mI have never done a book haul before and since I went a little mad book shopping this week I thought that if I was ever going to do a haul this week should be the week.

I bought five books, most of which I picked up from Tesco. If you live in the UK I would recommend checking out the book section of your local large Tesco. They usually only have recent popular releases but they always have fantastic offers on them. Lately they have been selling books for £3.75 each or two for £7. I was torn between three books so I bought all three because I could and they were only £3.75, which is a steal.

So the first book I bought this week is a new release and that is Half Wild by Sally Green. This is the second book in the Half Bad trilogy and I have been so curious about how the story was going to pan out that I picked up this book from Waterstones on the day of its release. If you don’t know anything about Half Bad you can check out my review of the first book here.

cvr9781451654981_9781451654981_lgThe next book that I bought is a little unusual and the most expensive book of the lot (£17/$25), and that is Rest in Pieces: The Curious Fates of Famous Corpses by Bess Lovejoy. This is a non-fiction book that tells you about the strange things that happened to the bodies of famous people after they died. It is a little morbid but it has a brilliant sense of humor to the whole thing, and lets face it, sometimes morbid things are interesting. It was the cover that first attracted me to this book because it is a bit strange and the happy skeleton on the back makes me smile. I picked this up in Waterstones but it seems pretty popular so you might find it in most bookshops in the humor section.

The last three books are from my rampage through Tesco. I bought The Vanishing Witch by Karen Maitland, The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton and The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester.

The Vanishing Witch is a historical fantasy novel that is set in the time of Richard II. I know very little about this book other than people start dying unexpectedly and witches start being blamed for it. I love history and I have read a lot about the days of witch hunting so this book sounded really interesting to me.

I bought The Miniaturist for a rather silly reason, and that is that I have felt like this book is haunting me. It is everywhere I go. It is the first thing I see in any book shop or book section, it has been on tons of blogs, even  youtubers who are not even book bloggers have had this book, so apparently this book wasn’t going to go away until I bought it and read it so I gave in. It will keep the book gods happy because they clearly have been wanting me to read it. This book is another historical novel and it is set in the seventeenth century, it is about a girl who goes to live with a miniaturist who has built a life sized replica of their house and all sorts of mysteries start being revealed.

hourglass-factory-9781471139307_hrLast but not least I have The Hourglass Factory by Lucy Ribchester. I have been reading a lot about suffragettes lately so when I spotted this book I had to pick it up. Once again this is a historical novel set in 1912 London (I must be on some sort of historical novel binge), it is about a female reporter who is trying to track down a missing suffragette. It drags her into the world of the circus, corset fetishists and suffragettes. This is another book with a gorgeously eye catching cover too. It’s bright yellow! I cant wait to give it a read.

Well that is everything for my first haul. Feel free to let me know how I did because I’m always happy to hear feedback, and if you have read any of these books let me know what you thought of them because I would love to hear your opinions.

 

One comment on “Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

