REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824Summary:

From GoodReads.com:

“When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.”

Review:

This book is the first book in a new young adult trilogy that is based around a retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

I know this book is super popular among book bloggers and Youtubers lately so I know a lot of people are going to disagree with my opinion on this book but I am going to come right out and say it: this book sucked. It is the sneaky sort of bad too. It starts off strong with a strong, pretty action packed first chapter which keeps you reading until you realise that chapter one was the best written chapter in the whole thing.

Another problem I had with the book was the characters. Personally I found them rather boring and unlikable, and this made it very difficult to care about them and what was happening in the story. Everyone was a little dull and flat, and the characters who were a little less dull and had slight development, were jackasses.

Complaining aside, this book did have its good points. It is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and I think that side of the book was carried out pretty well. The main character, Feyre, is a little different from the Beauty characters that we are used to seeing though so that took me a while to get used to. It had some beautiful ideas and imagery that I haven’t seen anywhere else and those ideas where what kept me reading. If it wasn’t for the uniqueness of some of the ideas in this novel I would have given up on it five chapters in.

I think it is safe to say that I will not be reading the second book when it comes out next year. I am just really disappointed because I was looking forward to reading this and Beauty and the Beast is my favourite fairy tale. Hopefully I can find a better retelling in another novel.

Rating:

I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. It would have been a one star but since this book had some promising elements I decided to give it two. Overall I am just disappointed.

If you have read A Court of Thorns and Roses let me know what you thought of it? I would love to know.

6 comments on “REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I had a pretty negative response to this book too. I Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series so I was just really disappointed in this book. Your review is spot on in my opinion.

    • There’s supposed to be a “love” in the second sentence there, but apparently I thought it was okay to leave that out. Whoops.

    • Book Mage says:

      Thank you, I’m glad someone agreed with me because I keep seeing this book being raved about. I havent read Throne of Glass but it is on my to-read list so I will be checking it out shortly. I was just so disappointed because I all hyped up to read a Beauty and the Beast retelling.

  2. aentee @ read at midnight says:

    I agree, I found it very hard to connect to any of the characters for most of the book. It was so slow for the first 70% as well! But I rather enjoyed the last chapters. Great review!

  3. Blogging Away Reality says:

    IT WAS A SNEAKY FIRST CHAPTER WASN’T IT! I read the excerpt online and enjoyed it a lot, and trusting my love for Sarah J Maas’ Throne of Glass series, I went out a brought the book. Little did I know that it was the best chapter, and Feyre turned out to be a blubbering idiot! I rated it 2/5 as well…

  4. […] So, yesterday I commented on The Book Mage’s review on A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. (Here’s the link) […]

Leave a Reply

