NaNoWriMo Day 5: A Tip

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

It is day 5 of NaNoWriMo and just like every year, I am doing terribly with only 500 words written. I know that is even more awful than my usual track record but I got a new job and they asked me to start the very next day so I have been more than a tad busy. My life likes to suddenly turn busy every November. I think it only happens  because I am doing NaNoWriMo. The writing gods hate me. But as horrible as my word count is at least I am actually writing something, even if it is just random little bits here and there. It is better than nothing.

I am prone to rather horrible bouts of writers block and I have discovered a new way to cure it so I thought I would share it with you all. And it is… Write in bed.

I don’t mean sitting on your bed or lounging on it, I mean get under the sheets, snuggle up with your pillow like you are going to sleep and then write in a notebook in that position. I know it sounds strange but when you lay down like you are going to sleep you instinctively relax. It makes it easier to get over writer’s block and your thoughts start racing like they normally do before you go to sleep. I have been trying it out lately and it really works.

Are you taking part in NaNoWriMo? And if so feel free to let me know how yours is getting on? And if you are not taking part but have some tips on how to beat writers block I would love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

