REVIEW: YOU by Caroline Kepnes

20821614Summary:

Synopsis from GoodReads.com:

“When a beautiful, aspiring writer strides into the East Village bookstore where Joe Goldberg works, he does what anyone would do: he Googles the name on her credit card.

There is only one Guinevere Beck in New York City. She has a public Facebook account and Tweets incessantly, telling Joe everything he needs to know: she is simply Beck to her friends, she went to Brown University, she lives on Bank Street, and she’ll be at a bar in Brooklyn tonight—the perfect place for a “chance” meeting.

As Joe invisibly and obsessively takes control of Beck’s life, he orchestrates a series of events to ensure Beck finds herself in his waiting arms. Moving from stalker to boyfriend, Joe transforms himself into Beck’s perfect man, all while quietly removing the obstacles that stand in their way—even if it means murder.”

Review:

Do you remember when I used to complain that I could never find a book creepy or scary enough for me? Well I found it.

YOU is the terrifying journey into the mind of a romantic stalker that can be best described as the book version of a car crash. It is horrific and terrifying but you still cannot look away or put it down. This novel is written in a very unique first person style that just makes everything in the novel that bit more chilling. The novel is told from Joe’s point of view but all of his narration is directed toward his victim, for example “You looked up, you smiled me me. You like me.” Even when he is apart from her all of narration is still directed at her.

If you are planning on reading this book I would recommend that you maybe read it over a longer period of time or have a side novel on the go to escape into because this book can get very intense. I made the mistake of binge reading it in three days and it turned me very paranoid. I am not normally so effected by creepy or graphic things but this one hit a little closer to home than I thought it would. So if you have had even the smallest experience with stalking, domestic violence or sexual assault you might want to read something else. As fantastically written as this book was I do not think I will be reading the sequel that is coming out next year simply due to the effect this novel had on me.

If you think you can handle the intensity of this book I would highly recommend it simply due to how brilliantly well written it is. It is very much an adult novel, with graphic sexual themes, scenes and language, as well as a great deal of violence. Even with those things in the novel I think less sensitive YA readers should read this novel because it highlights the dangers of the over use social media and who you ar sharing your information with.

Rating:

Even though this novel freaked me out quite a bit I still gave it 5 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com. It was refreshing to find a novel that actually frightened me for once because that rarely happens. If you like novels like the Dexter series or American Psycho this should definitely be your next read.

As always feel free to follow me on GoodReads and if you have read YOU let me know what you thought of it below.

…Now I am off to put this book in the freezer where it belongs.

5 comments on “REVIEW: YOU by Caroline Kepnes

  1. Symone Books says:

    Whenever someone is looking for a thriller or something creepy I always recommend You. Love the Friends reference 😛

    • Book Mage says:

      Even though it really freaked me out I still ended up buying copies of it as Christmas presents for a few people. I will be recommending it to people who like scary thrillers.
      And thank you. I’m glad someone got it 😛

  2. […] There is a sequel to this book coming out in the new year and I am very tempted to read it even though this first one scared me A LOT, and I am not easily frightened. If you like American Psycho you should give this one a read. You can read my full review, and all the warnings surrounding this book, here. […]

  3. Jovita says:

    Thanks for the great review. I may pick this up again. I started it a while back and only made it into the first chapter and then put it down and I don’t remember why. Have a great day.

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      Thank you! I have done that with books before. Sometimes it just isn’t the right time to read a particular book and you end up loosing interest really quickly. Let me know if you pick it up again.

Leave a Reply

