Holiday Reads

It is only 4 days until Christmas so I thought it was about time that I should write a holiday themed blog post and about the books I plan to read over this Christmas period. One of these books I finished reading today, but the other two I plan on getting through this week because they are pretty short and I read them every year.

1. The Hogfather by Terry Pratchett

7a980b43cc9fb5ff61c67b43faf35414This is the 20th book in Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series but it is possible to read it as a stand alone so don’t let that scare you. Basically Death decides to fill in for Santa, or at least the Disicworld version of Santa known as the Hogfather, and he gets a bit carried away.

I finished reading this book today and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for something more on the funny side this Christmas. It is highly entertaining and Death is adorable. I know that is a strange thing to say about a seven foot tall skeleton but he is endearing in his own clueless away.

If you have not read a Pratchett book before this is a good place to start, but I would recommend reading all of the Death books while you are at it.

2. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

18Do I really need to tell you the summary for this one? A pack of ghosts decide to haunt a grumpy guy until he decides to stop being an asshole, that is it.

I have my own personal tradition of rereading A Christmas Carol every year. I have loved this book ever since I studied it in secondary school and it is definitely one of my favourite Christmas stories, along with The Little Match Girl but that is not a novel.

I know that everyone has probably seen some form of adaption of this book but you need to go read the real thing. It is beautifully written, and best of all it is only 100 pages long. You could easily get through this before Santa turns up.

3. The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

2395757Of course I would manage to find an excuse to read more Sherlock Holmes stories at Christmas time, as you all know by now I have had a life long addiction to my favourite detective.

The priceless gem known as the blue carbuncle has been stolen and Holmes finds it inside of a Christmas goose. How did it get there? Who put a priceless gem inside of a goose? Will Holmes and Watson ever get their Christmas dinner? The game is afoot.

The Adventure of the Blue Carbuncle is a short story that can be found in any copy of The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes. And even though this is a post about reading I would highly suggest that you look up the television adaptation of this story featuring Jeremy Brett as Sherlock Holmes. I believe the whole episode can be found on Youtube.

So what do you like to read during the holiday season? Please let me know. I might just add them to my reading list for next year.

As always feel free to check out my GoodReads, Tumblr and Instagram.

4 comments on “Holiday Reads

  1. I’ve never read a Christmas Carol but downloaded it yesterday. Can’t wait to read it. I’m also kind of tempted to try the Hogfather? Have never read Terry Pratchett.

    • Book Mage says:

      A Christmas Carol is brilliant, also it is nice and short compared to some of Dickens’ other books. I am starting my reread of it tonight.
      Pratchett’s writing is really funny and strange. I would highly recommend looking him up. Good Omens is another book of his that is very good, he co wrote it with Neil Gaiman.

      • Thanks for the recommendations. Neil Gaiman is another author I really must try so that book could be perfect.

      • Book Mage says:

        Any time 🙂 Gaiman is one of my all time favourite authors so I could suggest books by him all day. The Graveyard Book and The Ocean At The End of the Lane being my two favourites.

Leave a Reply

