Best Reads of 2015

2015 is almost over already?! I feel like I just finishing writing my 2014 list of favourites.  I suppose time flies when you are reading great books, so here, in no particular order, are some of the best books that I read during 2015.

1. Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

17026_413852478709121_1163712783_nIf you have been following me this year you will know that I read a lot of Neil Gaiman books during 2015, but this is one of the best.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a stand alone fantasy novel told by a man recalling some strange and fantastical events from his childhood. That is all I can really tell you about the plot without ruining it so just go read it yourself. It is basically Coroline for grownups.

Brilliantly written and wonderfully creepy you should check this book out if you have not read it yet. To read my full review click here.

2. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

the-miniaturist-978144725089001This is one of those books that takes you by surprise by how good it is. I only read this book because it kept appearing everywhere I went so I bought it to stop it haunting me, and I did not regret that decision at all.

This is a standalone historical fiction novel set in 17th century Amsterdam. It follows an 18 year old girl called Nella as she marries into a very mysterious family that she barely knows.

If you are interested in venturing into the world of historical fiction I would highly recommend picking this one up because I could not put it down once I started reading it. To read my full review click here. 

3. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

2213661Oh look another Gaiman book on my favourites list.

The Graveyard book is a standalone middlegrade novel about a living boy called Nobody who is raised by ghosts in a graveyard. It is spectacularly dark and well written, and the amount of research that probably went into the folklore and customs of English graveyards really shows.

If you want a quick, funny and dark book about growing up this is the one for you. It is also based on The Jungle Book but instead of a jungle and animals raising a boy it is a graveyard and ghosts. For more details you can read my full review of it here. 

4. The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

9781408854280If there had to be a contender for the top spot of books that I read this year this would certainly be it. I loved this book so much that I had the worst book hangover that I have ever experienced after reading it. I am extremely disappointed that it is a standalone because I still miss the characters so much even though the story was wrapped up very well.

This book is set in 19th century England and it is about a man who wakes up one day to find a strange pocket watch on his pillow. After the watch saves him from a bombing he sets off to find out where the watch came from.

If you like historical fiction, steampunk, adorable relationships or simply the idea of pet clockwork octopi this is the book for you. You can read my full raving review here, and that also include a sample of the audiobook.

5. Vicious by V.E Schwab

vicious_victonagi_v-e-schwabAnother contender for my top book of 2015, Vicious is a brilliant book that focuses on all of the grey areas in the superhero/supervillain dynamic. I am a massive fan of all things comic book related so to read a superhero novel this well written just ticked all the right boxes.

This is about two friends who decide to carry out some experiments to gain superpowers, but when things go wrong it puts them both on the path of revenge.

Who doesn’t love a good super-powered superhero story? This has all the grittiness of the Batman comics so if you are a fan of the dark knight and other gritty heroes you will probably love this book. I think this best thing about this novel is that you are never entirely sure whose side to be on for a good portion of the book. You can read my full review here.

6. You by Caroline Kepnes

20821614This book might have seriously freaked me out after reading it but it is still going to be in my top reads list for 2015. This is the book equivalent of a car crash, it is graphic and chilling but it is impossible to put down.

YOU is written from the point of view of a romantic stalker and one of the most unique things about the novel is the narration style as all of it is addressed to the woman he is stalking even when he is no where near her.

There is a sequel to this book coming out in the new year and I am very tempted to read it even though this first one scared me A LOT, and I am not easily frightened. If you like American Psycho you should give this one a read. You can read my full review, and all the warnings surrounding this book, here.

Those are my top picks for 2015. How many of these books have you read? What were the best books you read during 2015? I am always open to recommendations so feel free to leave your favourites in the comments below.

As always feel free to add me on my GoodReads, Tumblr and Instagram, as I am always open to more bookish friends to read with in 2016.

Leave a Reply

