Bout of Books Day 1 Progress and the ‘Would you rather’ Challenge

BoB15-200x200It is day two of Bout of Books (and the last day to sign up if you havent yet) so I thought I would give you an update on my reading progress and do the “Would you rather” tag challenge set by Writing My Own Fairy Tale.

I am currently reading both Night Film by Marisha Pessl and Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens at the same time.

My Progress so Far: 

  • Locke and Key volume 1 by Joe Hill
  • Night Film by Marisha Pessl (132 pages read)
  • Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens (127 pages read)
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E Schwab

Grand total of pages read overall: 259

Would you rather…?

1.Would you rather:
Lend books to someone who dog-ears pages or to someone who reads with cheesy Cheetos fingers?

I buy a lot of second-hand and old books so I am going to have to pick the dog earring person to loan a book to. I’m used to books with old pages and personally I think books can look pretty a little scruffy. It means they have been loved and read a lot. Meanwhile Cheeto fingers will make your book smell for eternity. Luckily I live in Ireland where we only have Cheetos in special shops and even then they do not turn your fingers orange because the food colouring you Americans use is illegal here due to health reasons.

But I would not loan any of my 100+ year old copies of books to either of them, or anyone for that matter.

Would you rather:
Be able to meet one character of your choice or meet one author of your choice?

Meet the character of my choice. I would rather pick someone magical over meeting a regular person any day.

Would you rather:
Never be allowed in a book store again or never be allowed in a library again?

I gave this one some thought and I am going to choose to never be allowed in a library again. As much as I love libraries I buy more books than I borrow. Also I not giving up my favourite second-hand bookshop any time soon.

Would you rather:
Have to choose one of your favorite characters to die in their book or have to pick one of your favorite couples to break up in their book?

I’m going to kill a character. I can get over a character death and pretend that didn’t happen easily enough. The angst that comes with a breakup, not so much.

Would you rather:
Be required to read Twilight once a year for the rest of your life or The Scarlet Letter once a year for the rest of your life?

A Scarlet Letter! I would rather  cut my legs off with a blunt and rusty saw than read Twilight once let alone every year.

3 comments on “Bout of Books Day 1 Progress and the ‘Would you rather’ Challenge

  1. I would have to give up the library as well:( and looks like you had an awesome reading day yesterday, keep up the good work!

  2. I would definitely lend my book to someone who dog ears. I think that’s so much better than cheesy fingers! I read about 187 pages last night and then read 2 short stories from My True Love Gave to Me today!

    • Book Mage says:

      There would be no getting cheesy finger smell and orangeness out of the paper. That is a brilliant reading day. Well done! 🙂

Leave a Reply

