REVIEW: Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell

91ruyhdsv4l-_sl1500_Summary:

Synopsis from GoodReads.com:

“Meet Ada Goth. She lives in Ghastly-Gorm Hall with her father, Lord Goth, lots of servants and at least half a dozen ghosts, but she hasn’t got any friends to explore her enormous, creepy house with.

Then, one night, everything changes when Ada meets a ghostly mouse called Ishmael. Together they set out to solve the mystery of the strange happenings at Ghastly-Gorm Hall, and get a lot more than they bargained for…”

Review:

With Frankenstein’s monster in her fridge, sirens in her parlor and a sword fighting vampire as her governess, Ada Goth’s life is a little strange.

I was not planning on reviewing many children’s books since relaunching this blog but I did promise to review all things creepy and horror themed. Also I loved this book so much that I couldn’t fight the urge to review it. Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse is a children’s novel about the odd life of Ada Goth and her adventures in her equally strange home. The book itself is beautifully illustrated with dozens of images drawn by the writer himself to help tell the story.

Personally I wish this book had been around when I was much younger. A lot of the stronger characters in the novel are female and I think it would have made a big impact on me if I was a little girl. It also deals with what it is like living with a parent with depression or in mourning, as her father is constantly mourning her mother’s death.

I think this book would make perfect Halloween reading for any child. It isn’t scary, but it has plenty of monsters and odd things to make a good Halloween book. The monsters are also treated like characters rather than being frightening. If your child can handle Roald Dahl they could easily read this. For adult readers, if you fancy a book that is not very serious and full of literary inside jokes, I recommend picking this up for fun. It is a very quick read, at around 200 illustrated pages. I polished it off in one sitting. Even if you love serious books sometimes you just need to pick up something quick and funny. It has the nonsensical humor of Roald Dahl’s novels and Neil Gaiman’s Graveyard Book, so if you like those books, you will love this.

Rating:

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com and I do not give out 5 stars that often. I recently bought the second book (there are 3 in the series) and I cannot wait to get stuck into it, apparently it features a parody of the Great British Bake Off.

As always feel free to follow me on GoodReads and if you have read Goth Girl let me know what you thought of it below.

3 comments on “REVIEW: Goth Girl and the Ghost of a Mouse by Chris Riddell

  1. […] You can check out my full review of the first book here.  […]

  2. This sounds so adorable!

  3. […] is very much a book for children. It is very similar to the Goth Girl series which I have mentioned on this blog several times before. I love Goth Girl so when I saw a very […]

Leave a Reply

