2017 Reading Resolutions and Bout of Books

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

A new year means a new reading challenge so I, as of five minutes ago, set my reading target for 2017 to a whopping 100 books. It is a little daunting but I have set up some mini challenges along the way to keep things interesting. If you have been following me for a while you would know that I set a mini goal for 2016 to read as many classic novels as possible. You know those famous books you always hear about and see film adaptions of but have never read? Those books. I finally got around to reading them and it was an amazing experience. If you want to challenge yourself this year I would highly recommend giving it a go.

This year my goal, on top of reading 100 books, is to reread particular series’. As many of you know I am a die hard Sherlock Holmes fan (Not BBC), but I read those books years ago with the exception of a few stories scattered here and there over the years. So this year I am going to reread the entire series in chronological order. Another two things I will be rereading are the Chronicles of Narnia and the entire works of Edgar Allan Poe. Many of those, except Poe, are not really relevant to this spooky reads blog but I have a few surprises planed for here so you will have to wait and see what those are.

Bout of Books 18!

wuth1tqlAs I am challenging myself to read 100 books this year I am kicking 2017 off by taking part in Bout of Books 18.

If  don’t know what Bout of Books is, it is a reading challenge that takes place every few months and the goal is simply to read as much as you possibly can. There are no targets or goals, you set all of that yourself. There are also giveaways and challenges so you have plenty of chances to win free stuff. You can find out more information and signup at their website.

You have until Tuesday the 3rd to sign up if you want to take part.

Here is an extract from their website explaining it all:

“The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team”

I went out and found some darker reads for younger readers to review so I will be reading some shiny new books for this challenge and one of my rereads. So I will be reading:

  • Frozen Charlotte by Alex Bell
  • Poor Unfortunate Soul by Serena Valentino
  • Once Upon a Dream by Liz Braswell
  • A Study in Scarlet by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  • Wolverine and the X-men vol.1 (If I have time)

I will be competing in Bout of Books challenges throughout the week using this blog, Twitter and Instagram so if you want to keep track of my progress you can follow me on those as well as Goodreads

Is anyone else doing Bout of Books this week? If so let me know, I would love to keep track of your readathon progress.

One comment on “2017 Reading Resolutions and Bout of Books

  1. jennielyse says:

    I’m glad you decided to join in the fun! I hope you’ve had a good week so far and have got a lot of reading done!

Leave a Reply

