A Stephen King Hater Reads Stephen King?

I run a horror blog and I dont like Stephen King books???

Personally I think King is better when you are an older teenager and going through that edgy Fight Club, Catcher in the Rye and Clockwork Orange phase. They try too hard, full of King tropes that repeat themselves over and over, and generally most of his characters are very unpleasant. I read him a lot during school and have attempted some of his books as an adult and I still fail to see what all of the fuss is about.

But…I am going to give him another chance.

Starting from now I am going to read a Stephen King book a month and share my thoughts on it. Maybe I will be turned into a fan or maybe I will have my thoughts on his writing confirmed. This month I am going to start at the very beginning and read Carrie.

I have not decided my King book for the month of May so feel free to leave reading suggestions. If you want to track my progress feel free as always to add me on GoodReads and watch me suffer.

What is your favourite Stephen King book?

 

10 comments on “A Stephen King Hater Reads Stephen King?

  1. Misery and The Stand are two that stand out (pun intended?) in my mind. ‘Salem’s Lot scared the bejeebers out of me and The Dark Tower series is one of my favorites. I guess try to keep an open mind and don’t go into his writing with any preconceived notions (as difficult as that may be). I look forward to your reactions to his writing!

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      I keep hearing about The Stand and Salem’s Lot. I will be trying to keep an open mind. That is why I am doing a new one every month, I dont want to overdose on King and end up hating every book.

  2. I really enjoyed The Shining but I tried reading Christine and absolutely hated it. Good luck!

  3. Although I would agree that The Stand and Misery and of course The Dark Tower series are some of my favorites, I would suggest The Tommyknockers, but, my all time favorite from Stephen King is not horror at all- Hearts in Atlantis.
    so there…

  4. […] make no secret of not being a fan of Stephen King, hell I write a monthly blog series called A King Hater Reads King, so obviously I am not the biggest fan. This novella interests me though. I might not be the […]

  5. Cujo, Pet Semetary, IT, Firestarter, and most of his anthologies are my favorites. Salem’s Lot was great, I agree, as was the Dark Tower series

Leave a Reply

