The Get to Know Me Tag!

I have been really enjoying getting back into book blogging lately, and as much fun as books are it is nice to get to know the person behind the blog a little. I first saw this tag over at Bionic Bookworm’s blog so go give her post a read too.

VITAL STATS

NAME: Bernadette

NICKNAMES: None. Sadly my friends are not very creative. 

BIRTHDAY: The 8th of September.

STAR SIGN: Virgo.

OCCUPATION: Digital Designer. I manage all social media, web design and graphic design for a big car company.

LIVING IN: Belfast, Northern Ireland. I am a city girl, and I live with my partner in a large house that we only bought a few months ago.

APPEARANCE

HAIR COLOUR: Jet black

HAIR LENGTH: Just past shoulder length. It used to be butt length until I chopped it off last year. I am growing it back.

EYE COLOUR: Bright green but sometimes they are pale green.

BEST FEATURE: My eyes. I get a lot of compliments on them because they are quite big.

BRACES: A long time ago. I wore braces for 4 years of secondary school. It was awful.

PIERCINGS: 5 ear piercings. 2 in my right ear and 3 in my left.

TATTOOS: None, but I am getting a half sleeve designed for my 30th birthday next year. I put it off so I could spend tons of money on a custom sleeve.

RIGHT OR LEFT: Left

Have some selfies because why not!

FIRSTS

REAL HOLIDAY: My first holiday outside of Ireland and the UK wasn’t really a holiday. I went to France and Belgium when I was 17 to visit World War 1 battle locations. I learned so much and ate tons of delicious food.

BEST FRIEND: A plastic skeleton named Dead Fred. …Oh you mean real people? My first best friend was called Nicola. We bonded over our love of vampires and being odd.

AWARD: My primary school actually invented their science award specifically for me. We had been learning about bugs that year and I kept bringing spiders into class because I thought it would help. The teacher thought it was brilliant, the students, not so much.

SPORT: Karate. I studied it for 7 years before discovering Jiu Jitsu.

CONCERT: My Chemical Romance. A silly emo band but I never say no to free tickets.

FAVOURITES

TV SHOWS: American Horror Story, Criminal Minds, Penny Dreadful and some anime.

COLOUR: Red

SONGS: Lovecats by The Cure, Ziggy Stardust by David Bowie, Happy House by Siouxsie and the Banshees. Nancy Boy by Placebo and lately I have been addicted to the song Love Will Tear Us Apart by Joy Division. .

RESTAURANT: A place in town called Sticks and Stones. It is an expensive steak restaurant that lets you cook your own steak on rocks. Also AM:PM which is a fine dining Cabaret restaurant, and I eat a lot of Korean BBQ.

SHOPS: My local used bookshop, obviously. It is called Keats and Chapman. For clothes I mostly shop in a place in Belfast called Vintage and Retro. I browse that place regularly to hunt for band shirts and vintage pieces.

BOOKS: Anything by Neil Gaiman or HG Wells are my favourites. Also the Sherlock Holmes series and The Portrait of Dorian Gray.

SHOES: I am a boots kind of girl. If the shoes look like I could kick a man to death while wearing them I will probably like them. Right now my favourite pair of shoes are a pair of pointed toe ankle boots that are covered in buckles.

BOOK GENRES: Horror, thriller, science fiction and fantasy.

CURRENTLY

FEELING: Relaxed – It is Friday night and I am just finished my weekly pampering session.

SINGLE OR TAKEN: Taken. I have been with my partner for almost 5 years.

EATING: Nothing but considering getting up and getting some hummus from the fridge.

THINKING ABOUT: Should I get hummus? Should I put my laptop away and read more of the new Rick Riordan book? Will I ever finish painting my nails? Find out next week on…!

WATCHING: My partner playing Breath of the Wild and giving occasional sarcastic commentary.

WEARING: Alice in Wonderland pajamas that my mum bought me for Christmas. 

DO YOU…..

HAVE KIDS: Nope, but I would like some one day. I am very much a career girl so I would like to have only one kid, two at the most. I already have names picked out. Victor for a boy and Matilda for a girl.

WANT TO TRAVEL: Hell yeah! My partner and I are going to London (again) next year to visit the West End. We also plan on visiting Japan, New York and I want to go back to France and Belgium. I miss them, even though I have been to France 3 times.

BELIEVE IN YOURSELF: Yes I do. I am generally Little Miss Confidence most of the time. I have bad days like everyone else, but generally I believe I can do anything if I put my mind to it. If I have a bad day I just remind myself of everything I accomplished on my own and it makes me feel better.

I am not going to tag anyone in this, but I have one request: Do this tag and share a link to it with me. I would love to get to know some other bloggers on here.

3 comments on “The Get to Know Me Tag!

  1. Love that you got the chance to do this one!! Your best friend answer was hilarious! I may have also had a best friend who was not human. Funny enough his name was also Fred – due to my childhood obsession with the movie Drop Dead Fred. I’ve always been a morbid person 🙂 nice to know you! One of these days I’ll make it to Ireland. It’s my #1 country in the world to visit!!!!

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      I loved reading your post. It was great to get to know you 🙂 I LOVE Drop Dead Fred!! My Fred isnt named after that dead Fred though because he is older than the film. Basically he is a skeleton called Fred, and skeletons are dead, so Dead Fred lol. What was your non-human Fred?

Leave a Reply

