Waiting for Wednesday: Dark Net by Benjamin Percy

Book Synopsis:

“The Dark Net is real. An anonymous and often criminal arena that exists in the secret, far reaches of the Web, some use it to manage Bitcoins, pirate movies and music, or traffic in drugs and stolen goods. And now, an ancient darkness is gathering there as well. This force is threatening to spread virally into the real world unless it can be stopped by members of a ragtag crew:

Twelve-year- old Hannah – who has been fitted with the Mirage, a high-tech visual prosthetic to combat her blindness. Lela, a technophobic journalist. Mike Juniper, a one-time child evangelist who suffers from personal and literal demons. And Derek, a hacker with a cause.
They have no idea what the Dark Net really contains.

Set in present day Portland, The Dark Net is a cracked-mirror version of the digital nightmare we already live in, a timely and wildly imaginative techno-thriller about the evil that lurks in real and virtual spaces, and the power of a united few to fight back”

Why I need it:

Something you dont know about me: I have an obsession with the Dark Net. I have degrees in computer science and software engineering, and I work online professionally as a web designer. I love all things internet and technology based. So the idea of there being a dark side to the internet intrigues me. I love reading stories from people’s experiences with the dark side of the internet. The fact that there is a whole world out there that you need a torrent to access and takes you into a realm of crime and snuff films both scares and amazes me. That is why I need this book.

I have been on the hunt for a modern horror novel focused on the internet for a long time. I think there is a lot of potential there for horror. I know the idea of an internet based horror story sounds odd but if you think about it it could really work. You can be anyone online, people die online, anyone can see your information if you are not careful, and tons of other scary things we dont think about every day, there is tons of potential.

The only slight concern I have with this novel is that a few early reviews of it have mentioned that it is a little different from they expected. I dont know what they expected, but there is a chance that it could be different from what I think the novel will be. I guess I won’t know until I read it, and I am pumped to do so.

Dark Net is scheduled for release on the 1st of August 2017

Waiting for Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Break the Spine to spotlight upcoming releases, and continued by Wishful Endings

9 comments on “Waiting for Wednesday: Dark Net by Benjamin Percy

  1. Amy Walters says:

    That sounds like a fascinating book. I’m not a programmer but I work for a software development company in the outsourcing department, so I also have quite a fascination with the dark web. Thank you for sharing, I love a good book recommendation

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      Ah a fellow STEM girl! We need more internet based books because there is so much untapped potential there.

  2. sydneyeditor1 says:

    It does sound fascinating — and while I’m not a fan of horror, I am intruiged by titles that take ont he idea of the internet and the good and the bad of it and how characters deal. I think it’s ripe for great storytelling.

  3. Oh wow, this sounds amazing! I love horror and the idea of the Dark Net fascinates me, although I’ve never attempted to get there. I hope you get to read this soon 😀

    Here’s my can’t-wait read!

  4. This one sounds really good. I haven’t heard of it before. I might have to add this one to my TBR list. Thanks for featuring it! Have a great week!

    CWW
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  5. Lisa Mandina says:

    Oooh, this sounds like a good one! Great pick!
    Check out my CWW

  6. The dark net is a pretty intriguing concept that I don’t see mentioned that much in all forms of media. I’m not too good with horror novels though, so I don’t know if I would read this or not. I hope you love it though! Here is my WoW!

  7. priyankaswonderland says:

    Intrigued definitely! Its not my cup of tea though. Hope you enjoy reading it!
    Here’s my Can’t Wait Wednesday

  8. […] internet horror and thriller novels have to keep coming. I love this trend. I know I said it in my Waiting for Wednesday for Dark Net, but I will say it again, I love internet themed horror and thriller fiction. I want to see more of […]

Leave a Reply

