Waiting for Wednesday: Friend Request by Laura Marshall

Book Synopsis:

“When Louise Williams receives a message from someone left long in the past, her heart nearly stops.

Maria Weston wants to be friends on Facebook.

Maria Weston has been missing for over twenty-five years. She was last seen the night of a school leavers’ party, and the world believes her to be dead. Particularly Louise, who has lived her adult life with a terrible secret.

As Maria’s messages start to escalate, Louise forces herself to reconnect with the old friends she once tried so hard to impress. Trying to piece together exactly what happened that night, she soon discovers there’s much she didn’t know. The only certainty is that Maria Weston disappeared that night, never to be heard from again – until now…”

Why I need it:

These internet horror and thriller novels have to keep coming. I love this trend. I know I said it in my Waiting for Wednesday for Dark Net, but I will say it again, I love internet themed horror and thriller fiction. I want to see more of them because I think the internet is an untapped source for thriller material.

I think the concept of this novel is very relatable. We all have that moment when an old acquaintance from school adds us on Facebook or follows us on Instagram. It fills us with curiosity. Why did they add you? What made you pop into their mind? Maybe they want to talk to you about something. We all think those things when we get that sort of friend request. Well, imagine the added element of knowing that the person has been missing for years. Now that sounds like a potentially brilliant novel.

Friend Request is scheduled for release on the 25th July 2017

Waiting for Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Break the Spine to spotlight upcoming releases, and continued by Wishful Endings

9 comments on “Waiting for Wednesday: Friend Request by Laura Marshall

  1. Internet/social media based stories always fascinate me as well so thanks for putting this one on my radar. My Pick.

  2. I never read a internet themed horror/thriller but I’d definitely be interested in reading one!

  3. sydneyeditor1 says:

    OH MY I LOVE THIS! I am loving the internet trend too, and this creeps me out and I am all GIMME! Great pick!

  4. admin says:

    I love internet horror. It’s so spooky! I don’t know of a lot of books (out yet) with that theme though. Can you maybe recommend a few? That are out already so I don’t have to wait for them 🙂

    My WoW post.

  5. This is on my wish list too! Sounds amazing.

  6. OK, I just added this one so thanks for sharing. It sounds really exciting and spooky!

  7. This sounds like such a great concept and really timely (and creepy!). Great pick!

  8. Renee' says:

    This definitely sounds intriguing. Enjoy and thanks for the heads up!

    Renee – My CWW

  9. priyankaswonderland says:

    Its not my kinda read but its very timely! Hope you enjoy it!
    Here’s my WoW

Leave a Reply

