Horror, Upcoming releases

Waiting for Wednesday: Inspection by Josh Malerman


Inspection by josh malerman book cover

Summary:

“J is a student at a school deep in a forest far away from the rest of the world.

J is one of only twenty-six students, all of whom think of the school’s enigmatic founder as their father. J’s peers are the only family he has ever had. The students are being trained to be prodigies of art, science, and athletics, and their life at the school is all they know—and all they are allowed to know.

But J suspects that there is something out there, beyond the pines, that the founder does not want him to see, and he’s beginning to ask questions. What is the real purpose of this place? Why can the students never leave? And what secrets is their father hiding from them?

Meanwhile, on the other side of the forest, in a school very much like J’s, a girl named K is asking the same questions. J has never seen a girl, and K has never seen a boy. As K and J work to investigate the secrets of their two strange schools, they come to discover something even more mysterious: each other.”

Why I need it:

The hype is REAL for the new Josh Malerman book that is hitting the shelves next month!

I have been trying my hardest to get an arc copy of this to review for you all but alas I haven’t had any luck. I think that has made me more determined to snatch it up once it is out so I can read and review it.

I will admit that I wasn’t the biggest fan of his novel, Bird Box, but I loved the ideas in it. It just didn’t grip me that much when I read it. I don’t know why. I enjoyed it enough but it wasn’t a favourite. While reading it I thought it was an idea that would make a better film than a book. Thank you Netflix!

The summary for Inspection sounds like it has similar themes to Bird Box; isolation, an unusual dystopian world and a very odd premise. Reading it raises a lot of questions for me so I can’t wait to read it and satisfy my curiosity .

 

Inspection is scheduled for release on April 23rd 2019

bannerMeWaiting for Wednesday is a weekly tag started by Break the Spine to spotlight upcoming releases, and continued by Wishful Endings

1 thought on “Waiting for Wednesday: Inspection by Josh Malerman”

  1. I’ve read some very positive reviews of this book and I’m definitely considering buying a copy when it comes out. Hope you love it😁

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.