Waiting for it Wednesday: Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew J. Sullivan

Book Synopsis:

“When a bookshop patron commits suicide, it’s his favorite store clerk who must unravel the puzzle he left behind in this fiendishly clever debut novel from an award-winning short story writer.

Lydia Smith lives her life hiding in plain sight. A clerk at the Bright Ideas bookstore, she keeps a meticulously crafted existence among her beloved books, eccentric colleagues, and the BookFrogs—the lost and lonely regulars who spend every day marauding the store’s overwhelmed shelves.

But when Joey McGinty, a young, beguiling BookFrog, kills himself in the bookstore’s back room, Lydia’s life comes unglued. Always Joey’s favorite bookseller, Lydia has been bequeathed his meager worldly possessions. Trinkets and books; the detritus of a lonely, uncared for man. But when Lydia flips through his books she finds them defaced in ways both disturbing and inexplicable. They reveal the psyche of a young man on the verge of an emotional reckoning. And they seem to contain a hidden message. What did Joey know? And what does it have to do with Lydia?”

Why I need it:

A mystery set in a bookshop, what more could you want?

I love books that are about books, writers or bookshops. I think it is because I am such a bookworm I love stories that are set in my own world. I can easily picture the sort of bookshop this novel is set in because my favourite bookshop has a back room that customers can easily walk into. A suicide in there is easy for me to visualise. And I was a bookseller myself once upon a time so that adds to the appeal of this novel. When you sell books you get to know your regulars very well.

I also have my usual reasoning for looking forward to this novel: I LOVE a good mystery. A novel like this I will fly through if it is well written because a good mystery novel reveals something in each chapter that raises more questions and keeps the reader hooked with that “just one more chapter” feeling. I hope this book delivers on that.

Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore is scheduled for release on the 13th of June 2017

Waiting for Wednesday is a weekly meme started by Break the Spine to spotlight upcoming releases, and continued by Wishful Endings

13 comments on “Waiting for it Wednesday: Midnight at the Bright Ideas Bookstore by Matthew J. Sullivan

  1. I have this one on my shelf as well! Hoping to start it after I finish my current read, Perennials by Mandy Berman.

  2. sydneyeditor1 says:

    YES YEs YES! This sounds Brilliant doesn’t it?!

  3. I have an arc of this one and look forward to reading it next month.

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      So many people have an arc of this, it isn’t fair lol. Please write a review of it when you get around to reading it. I would love to know what you think.

  4. Yeah you had me at mystery in a bookshop. Hadn’t heard of it but that has me ready to give it a go for sure!

  5. Lisa Mandina says:

    I love the cover and the idea, but don’t read this kind of book very often. Hope you can get your hands on it soon though.
    Check out my CWW

  6. This one sounds really interesting!!

  7. I love that this involves a bookstore. Totally fun!

  8. The title grabbed me. It made me think of all the fictional libraries and bookshops I have loved. My favourite is The Cemetery of Forgotten Books in Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

    • The Spine Cracker says:

      I LOVE The Cemetery of Forgotten Books. The title of this one sounds somewhat magical for it being a mystery novel.

  9. I think this book will speak to any reader. And that cover! ❤

  10. priyankaswonderland says:

    Seriously it sounds awesome and made for every reader! Great pick!
    Here’s my WoW

  11. I love a good murder mystery, good pick with this book. I’ll def add it to my reading list x

Leave a Reply

