Cinder by Marissa Meyer

 This is my first book review so I am both a little excited and nervous about it. If I suck I apologise in advance, I will probably work out this whole book reviewing thing as I go along.

So lets gets cracking on Cinder!

This book is a retelling of Cinderella but it is set in the future where there are cyborgs and other sorts of futuristic technologies. It is the first book of a quadrilogy and even though I had a few problems getting into this book at the beginning I am really looking forward to reading the rest of the series. I think I just had a few problems with the beginning because Cinderella isn’t one of my favourite fairy tales and there are a lot of parallels between the original and this story at the beginning. It was worth battling through it though as it turned out to be a very fun and interesting read.

Cinder is a mechanic and a cyborg who lives in New Beijing with her stepmother and stepsisters. She is treated as a second-class citizen because of her cyborg status. She finds herself caught up in an intergalactic struggle involving the people who live on the moon and Prince Kai, all while she is uncovering information about her own past. 

The main problem I had with this book was that it was very predictable and that sort of ruined it on me a little bit. I dont like being able to guess what is going to happen that easily. I have heard that the second book in the series, Scarlet, isn’t as predictable as Cinder so I will keep reading the series to see what happens.

I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. It was cool but it lost points due to its predictability and the fact that I had problems getting into it at the beginning.

If you have read Cinder feel free to let me know what you thought of it in the comments.

6 comments on “Cinder by Marissa Meyer

  1. Alison says:

    That’s a great first review!

    I hope you decide to continue the series. I’m loving it as it goes on. It’s great seeing everything fall into place.

    • Book Mage says:

      Thank you!

      I definitly plan on continuing the series. I’m not the biggest fan of Cinderella but I love Little Red Riding Hood and I know that is the next one. I cant wait to read it.

  2. […] (Read my review on Cinder here) […]

  3. […] To read more about Cinder you can read my review of it here. […]

  4. […] you remember my review of Cinder months ago (here it is!) you will remember that I wasn’t really sold on the first book but I am so glad that I kept […]

Leave a Reply

