Four Books for the Bout of Books Challenge

The Bout of Books reading challenge kicks off tomorrow. If you want to find out more about it I will put a link to my previous post here. The sign up for it closes on the 19th so if you want to enter you better get cracking.

Since I have to read as much as possible this week for the challenge I have put a bit of thought into what books I would like to read for it. My goal is to finish three books by the end of the challenge, but I have picked out a short fourth one in case I have some time left over. So here are is my to-read list for Bout of Books.

Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe

9780582254091This is a classic play that was published in 1604. It isnt very long and tells the tale of  a man who sells his soul to the devil in exchange for knowledge and power.

I have had this book on my shelf for a long time so I have decided to use Bout of Books as an excuse to finally get around to reading it. One of my favourite manga is based around the concept of selling your soul to a demon so that is why I am so interested in this play and why I picked it up in the first place.

 

The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings

murder complexThe GoodReads synopsis for The Murder Complex:

“Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?”

I heard that this book is gory, blood soaked and action packed and I knew that I had to pick it up. I added this book to my to-read list a few weeks about and I have been trying to get a didgital copy for it ever since. Now I have it I cant wait to read it.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

8df04aca135c75256c16d8118385e263The GoodReads synopsis for The Coldest Girl in Coldtown:

“Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.”

I was tempted to pick another book for my third novel for this reading challenge but The Coldest Girl in Coldtown has been on my to-read list for so long that I thought that I would finally check it off the list. I also know that this is a vampire novel and I haven’t read a good one of those since I reread The Vampire Chronicles two years ago. I highly doubt it will live up to the standard of vampires that has been set by my beloved Lestat but I am still looking forward to it.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

monster callsThe GoodReads synopsis for A Monster Calls:

“The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.”

I discovered this book on Goodreads when I was on a hunt for a book that is a little creepy. It is rather short compared to some novels so that it why I have chosen it to be my fourth novel to read if I have any extra time this week.

I am going to try my best to post reviews of these books after I finish them. I’m not sure about reviewing Doctor Faustus as it is both a classic and a play.

If you are entering Bout of Books this week, what is your goal if you have one? And if anyone has read any of the books on my to-read list for this challenge feel free to let me know what you thought of them. I know very little about them so I will love to hear some opinions.

Leave a Reply

