REVIEW: The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

9781408854280Summary:

Synopsis from GoodReads.com:

“1883. Thaniel Steepleton returns home to his tiny London apartment to find a gold pocket watch on his pillow. Six months later, the mysterious timepiece saves his life, drawing him away from a blast that destroys Scotland Yard. At last, he goes in search of its maker, Keita Mori, a kind, lonely immigrant from Japan. Although Mori seems harmless, a chain of unexplainable events soon suggests he must be hiding something. When Grace Carrow, an Oxford physicist, unwittingly interferes, Thaniel is torn between opposing loyalties.”

Review:

This is probably one of the best debut novels that I have ever read and it will certainly be in my list of favourite books from 2015. It is funny, witty and beautifully written. I am slightly disappointed that it is a stand alone novel because I want more of the characters but at the same time everything was so well wrapped up at the end that I think another book might ruin the magic.

I am a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes, so to have a book drag me back into that world made me very happy. The characters are very much the driving force behind this novel. They are all lovable in their own way, especially Mori who is like a Japanese version of Sherlock Holmes with a pet clockwork octopus. Also you rarely see any Japanese characters or politics in literature set in Victorian England so that element to the novel made it very unique and interesting. Also the relationship between Mori and Thaniel is simply wonderful.

The only flaw that I could really find with this novel was that it tends to focus more on the characters so the plot sort of falls to the back burner sometimes, but if you like character driven books you need to check this out. More people need to read this book because it deserve more fans and  I need people to share my love of this book.

This is an adult novel but there is nothing really offensive in it so I suppose someone who is used to reading YA novels can give this one a go.

Rating:

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on GoodReads.com and I don’t give out 5 star ratings that easily. If you like historical fiction, steampunk stuff or Sherlock Holmes you will love this book. It is a lot of fun. And it has a clockwork octopus called Katsu who likes to steal socks, what more do you need?

If you are interested in checking out The Watchmaker of Filigree Street Audible has been generous enough to provide me with the first 15 minutes of the audiobook to share with all my readers. Click on the link below and if you like what you hear you can get the full audiobook from Audible.com

2 comments on “REVIEW: The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley

  1. jadecranwell says:

    Oooh I’ve had my eye on this for a while. May give it a try. Nice review, as always. 🙂

  2. […] the idea of pet clockwork octopi this is the book for you. You can read my full raving review here, and that also include a sample of the […]

Leave a Reply

