Upcoming releases

Waiting for Wednesday: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson


38116996

Summary:

” A good friend will bury your body, a best friend will dig you back up.

Dino doesn’t mind spending time with the dead. His parents own a funeral home, and death is literally the family business. He’s just not used to them talking back. Until Dino’s ex-best friend July dies suddenly—and then comes back to life. Except not exactly. Somehow July is not quite alive, and not quite dead.

As Dino and July attempt to figure out what’s happening, they must also confront why and how their friendship ended so badly, and what they have left to understand about themselves, each other, and all those grand mysteries of life. “

Why I need it:

Is there a trend happening for books about friends coming back from the dead? If so, I am digging it. (Get it? As in digging up bodies? Never mind)

Anyway, when I first read the summary of The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried, my first thought was “Wow, those are dumb character names”, but my second thought was that this book sounded a little brilliant. It might be because I read Undead Girl Gang recently and loved it and now I want some more teenage zombies to entertain me.

What really interests me though is the promise of this book containing LGBT themes. I dont think there are enough books that are both creepy and feature LGBT characters. Who those characters are and what their relationship is exactly I dont know. It isnt mentioned in the blurb, so I guess we will have to wait for its release to find out.

The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried is scheduled for release on February 19th 2019

bannerMeWaiting for Wednesday is a weekly tag started by Break the Spine to spotlight upcoming releases, and continued by Wishful Endings

3 thoughts on “Waiting for Wednesday: The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried by Shaun David Hutchinson”

  1. This does sound good, although the cover seems a little weird to me, for some reason. But I also want to read Undead Girl Gang, and they both look like fun😁

    1. Maybe the strange cover will make sense with context? Undead Girl Gang is a lot of fun, and surprisingly deeper than I expected it to be.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.