New Year Resolutions

Hello, 

2015 is almost upon us and it is the time of year to start making resolutions and little changes to our lives that we plan to stick to, most of the time those resolutions are broken by the end of January but the important thing is that we tried. Personally I love New Year because it gives us all a good kick up the backside to try to change and improve ourselves.

I have made a few resolutions this year and because a lot of them are book or writing related I decided to share them with you.

1. Read 50 Books

I do a reading challenge every year. Last year my goal was to read 35 books, which I completed, and this year my goal was to read 40 books but I ended up reading 46 instead. I was tempted to set my goal to 45 books for 2015 but since I managed to surpass that this year by accident I think I should read 50 books instead. It is a little intimidating because it is close to reading a book a week but I am still super excited about attempting it.

If you want to follow my progress in the challenge you can follow me on GoodReads at:  https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/14163098-bernadette-donnelly 

Or just feel free to add me on there in general, the more book friends the better.

2. Write More

I failed at NaNoWriMo this year. I don’t consider it an entire loss though because doing NaNoWriMo got me thinking about writing and coming up with ideas again which are good things. I only failed in that I didn’t meet the goal of 50,000 words. I really want to get back into writing properly again and I have ideas for dozens of stories in my head I just need to get them out onto paper. I am going to really try to write this year, even if it takes me all of 2015 to write a first draft of a novel. It will still be writing.

3. Blog More

I need to get back into some sort of blogging routine, not only for this blog but also for a folklore blog I run. I can be good at sticking to a routine most of the time but lately everything has been a little crazy and I know that I need to fix that.

Also I need to think about the content of this blog. I love running it but I am still new to the whole book blogging thing so if there is anything you would like to see less or more of on here feel free to let me know in the comments, or in my ask box on Tumblr, the link is in the sidebar. Would you like more reviews? More lists? More tags? Would you like to see more of me as a person? I honestly have no idea so some tips would be appreciated.

I hope you all have a brilliant 2015 and I will see you in it!

tumblr_mfx1qhDlI91qzhkvho1_500

4 comments on “New Year Resolutions

  1. Mariam says:

    Great resolutions! I am also on the goal to read more, if you have any suggestions, please do comment on my post for suggestions!

    • Book Mage says:

      It is hard to make suggestions when I dont know what your tastes are. One series that I recommend to everyone is The Lunar Chronicles, which is fantastic and two more books of that series are due to be out this year. If you want a stand alone, but adult, book to read I would suggest Horns by Joe Hill. If you want more tailored recommendations feel free to tell me what your tastes are but the Lunar Chronicles and Horns are my two go-to book recommendations at the moment.

      I hope I was helpful 🙂

  2. Mariam says:

    Thanks for the suggestions – really appreciate it!! I read a range of books, from Gone with the Wind to Gone Girl – it just has to be more action and less description for me to be glued to the book. I just did a post about this on my blog, feel free to have a read here: http://wp.me/p2d8qZ-Gm

    • Book Mage says:

      I just had a look at your blog post and I am more than happy to give you a lot of suggestions. I get a little bored with lots of description too.

      If you want a series that will raise lots of questions in your mind and is quite twisty I would recommend the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin.

      I would also give The Hunger Games series a read because it is more action and less description. Also the books have depth that the films really lack at points.

      Horns by Joe Hill because it manages to be dark, adult, heartbreaking and hilarious all at the same time.

      The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer because they are fairy tale retellings set in the future involving outer space and lots of action with badass fairy tale ladies. They even rescue Prince Charming.

      The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It is a beautiful book and I cant really tell you what it is about. Also it is one of the few books I have seen written in the second person.

      Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. The story is told using real vintage photographs which makes it pretty unique and adds a real creep factor to it.

      I would also recommend Half Bad by Sally Green. It is set in a wizarding world, similar to Harry Potter but it is a lot more graphic, dark and cruel. It really makes you question who the good and bad guys really are. It also has chapters written in the second person which force you to feel how the main character feels.

      I’m sorry a lot of this list are YA novels. I will have to sit and think about more suggestions for you because I am sure I can think of more adult books, but these are the ones off the top of my head.

Leave a Reply

