Give Me Classics for 2016

leesclubHi guys,

I plan for 2016 to be the year of the classic novels.

My reading goal for 2016 is going to be set at 75 books, which is a scary number to me but aiming for 50 this year seemed scary but I managed to read 61 rather easily in the end. In 2016 I want at least 20 of those books to be classic novels because there are so many famous books I have not read and I plan to fix that.

When it comes to classic literature I tend to get stuck in a Victorian rut. All of my favourite classic novels are 19th century Gothic literature or Sherlock Holmes. For example I have read Frankenstein multiple times but never Oliver Twist.

So I want you to tell me what is your favourite classic novel? What books do you think I should read in 2016? Leave me a comment down below and all suggested novels will be added to me to-read list, unless I have read them before.

7 comments on “Give Me Classics for 2016

  1. I am in the same boat! I thought that I would read a lot of classics in high school but never did. I’ve never read Great Gatsby, Fahrenheit 451, Gone with the Wind or To Kill a Mockingbird 😦
    But I have read and enjoyed 1984, Animal Farm, Pride & Prejudice, Lord of the Flies, and The Outsiders. Those could be some good ones if you haven’t read them already!

    • Book Mage says:

      I read quite a few classics while in secondary school but I still missed out on a lot of them, for example we had to choose between To Kill a Mockingbird and Of Mice and Men. We read of Mice and Men so I never got around to To Kill a Mockingbird.
      The Great Gatsby is definitely one that is going on my list, so is To Kill a Mockingbird because I feel like I am missing out on something by not reading them.
      All of those books you suggested are going on my list because some of them I have been planning on reading for a while now.

  2. Stephanie says:

    I’m planning on reading a lot of classics in 2016, too! This year, I read both Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy and Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen and loved them both – if you haven’t read them yet, you definitely should! The Time Machine by H. G. Wells, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, and Lord of the Flies by William Golding are some of my other favorite classics 🙂

    • Book Mage says:

      2016 is going to be the year of classic novels! I will add those two novels to my list. I have already read The Time Machine, though I might end up reading it again as I think I might be getting a new pretty copy of it for Christmas. Pride and Prejudice will definitely be going to my to-read list, and so is Lord of the Flies because it keeps getting mentioned. What classics are you planning on reading in 2016?

      • Stephanie says:

        I feel like I might completely regret this, but I’m going to attempt War and Peace and Moby Dick in 2016. And maybe one of the Austen novels I haven’t read.

  3. Tiegan says:

    All I can say is don’t read “Great Expectations”.

    • Book Mage says:

      Oh I have heard enough about Great Expectations to know it is a great big let down, no matter how great your expectations for the novel are.

Leave a Reply

