Reading TBR

Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 books on my 2018 bucket list

Top 5 Tuesday is hosted by the brilliant Bionic Bookworm. Check her out if you are not following her already.

I was very very bad last year. I bought mountains of books and even went as far as to put some of them on my currently list on Goodreads but did I read them? No! I got distracted with other shiny books and being busy. The neglected books ended up sitting on my night stand with only a handful of pages read or a bookmark sitting at page one. So, this year I am planning on getting around to reading all of those neglected books.

1. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

the historian cover

Summary from GoodReads.com: 

“What does the legend of Vlad the Impaler have to do with the modern world? Is it possible that the Dracula of myth truly existed—and that he has lived on, century after century, pursuing his own unknowable ends? Elizabeth Kostova’s debut novel is an adventure of monumental proportions, a relentless tale that blends fact and fantasy, history and the present, with an assurance that is almost unbearably suspenseful—and utterly unforgettable.

Late one night, exploring her father’s library, a young woman finds an ancient book and a cache of yellowing letters. The letters are all addressed to “My dear and unfortunate successor,” and they plunge her into a world she never dreamed of—a labyrinth where the secrets of her father’s past and her mother’s mysterious fate connect to an inconceivable evil hidden in the depths of history. “


This is my current read for Bout of Books this week. I am so excited to finally get around to it. As I have mentioned before Dracula is one of my favourite novels of all time so hopefully I will enjoy this book.

bannerMe

2. The Call by Peadar O’Guilin

71x2bpdqaj2l

Summary from GoodReads.com:

“Imagine a world where you might disappear any minute, only to find yourself alone in a grey sickly land, with more horrors in it than you would ever wish to know about. And then you hear a horn and you know that whoever lives in this hell has got your scent and the hunt has already begun.

Could you survive the Call?”


Yes, I still haven’t finished this book. I have mentioned it on here a few times now. It isn’t the book’s fault, it is my stupid busy life. Things have calmed down a little so hopefully I should be able to polish this book off.

This is a horror fantasy novel about fairies and Celtic folklore. This book will have a lot of impressing to do because I am Irish and know my local folklore very well. I am fussy about my fairies.

bannerMe

3. 20,000 Leauges Under the Sea by Jules Verne

1200x630bb

Summary from GoodReads.com:

“Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Seas (French: Vingt mille lieues sous les mers) is a classic science fiction novel by French writer Jules Verne. It tells the story of Captain Nemo and his submarine Nautilus as seen from the perspective of Professor Pierre Aronnax.”


I am haunted by this book! Not only did I put off reading it earlier last year but I also put off reading it several years ago and donated my copy to charity so I am on my second copy of this book. For some reason I am doomed to never get around to reading this. I love classic novels and I read them all the time, but for some reason I can’t read 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. I am cursed! This year I will break the curse.

bannerMe

4. The Girl with All the Gifts by M.R Carey

17235026

Summary from GoodReads.com:

“Melanie is a very special girl. Dr. Caldwell calls her “our little genius.”

Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.

The Girl with All the Gifts is a sensational thriller, perfect for fans of Stephen King, Justin Cronin, and Neil Gaiman.”


I got a grand total of 5 chapters into the book and put it down for some unknown reason. It wasn’t due to lack of enjoyment, I was actually loving it, but for some reason I put this book down and then decided that I had neglected it for too long to pick up from where I left off. So now I need to start from the very start again. I am excited to do so though.

5. The Shades of Magic series by V.E Schwab

shadesmagictour-covers-from-tor-uk

Summary of A Darker Shade of Magic from GoodReads.com:

“Kell is one of the last Antari—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel Londons; Red, Grey, White, and, once upon a time, Black. 

Kell was raised in Arnes—Red London—and officially serves the Maresh Empire as an ambassador, traveling between the frequent bloody regime changes in White London and the court of George III in the dullest of Londons, the one without any magic left to see.

Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

After an exchange goes awry, Kell escapes to Grey London and runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She first robs him, then saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.”


I have actually read the first book of this series already but for some reason I just never continued. My partner bought me the other books for my birthday last year and he has asked me a few times when I am going to read them, so I will use that as motivation to finally get around to reading the last two.

8 thoughts on “Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 books on my 2018 bucket list”

  1. OH WOW! The Historian sounds amazing!!! I love anything Dracula so this is right up my alley! I think I read Dracula 20+ times in my childhood and teen years. I can’t wait to see what you think of that one – it may need to make its way to my TBR – why do you add to my TBR so often? lol! I read The Call a year or two ago and wasn’t too impressed. It was cool when they entered the fairy lands but there just wasn’t enough information to go with the story. It felt incomplete somehow. I hope you like it more than I did!
    Thanks for participating 🙂

    1. The Historian is good so far but it is a big 700 page book so I will be reading it for a while. I hope it stays good. I thought I was the only one who read Dracula that many times lol. It makes me happy every time you add one of my books to your TBR so I am not complaining lol.

      I remember you mentioning that you were not impressed with The Call. I will hold my opinion until I read it. I dont have high hopes because I am so fussy when it comes to my fairies. No one gets them right.

      1. I’ve been obsessed with vampires and Dracula since I was a small child. Twisted right from the start 😂
        I actually loved the idea of the fairies in the call. It was so dark and tortured instead of cute and magical. But I wanted more detail of the world and the fairies themselves. There was a reason why there wasn’t a lot known about them. But it didn’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.