Spooky Reads for Halloween

October is here! If you are anything like me you are super excited for Halloween being just around the corner and you want plenty of creepy and spooky things to read throughout October.

So here is a list of some of the creepier books I have read this year so satisfy all of your spooky reading urges.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

Through-the-Woods-CoverThis is a graphic novel that tells a series of rather creepy short stories. All of them are beautifully illustrated and the drawings just help to suck you into the world of the book and the make everything just that bit more scary.

If you want some short scary stories with lots of gorgeous but terrifying artwork to keep you up at night this Halloween you should pick this graphic novel up.

 

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

2213661If you are not a fan of super scary things but you still want to read something that has just the right amount of ghosts and ghouls in it I would highly recommend The Graveyard Book.

This book is based on The Jungle Book but instead of a jungle and animals raising a little boy it is a graveyard and ghosts doing it instead. This is a pretty safe read for younger readers as it is not very scary.

It is also illustrated which just adds to its charm.

I love this book and you can read my full review of it here.

The Ring by Koji Suzuki

609009Terrifying and thought provoking this is not a book I would recommend for younger readers. You have probably seen the film of The Ring but the book is extremely different in both plot and characters so take everything you think you know about it and throw it out a window.

I have a very high tolerance for scary things so this book didn’t frighten me as much as it did other people but I would still recommend it to anyone who wants a proper scary read for Halloween.

You can read my full review of The Ring here.

Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill

0575079126.02.LZZZZZZZThis is a very modern ghost story about an old rock star who buys a ghost online. Sadly for him the ghost is the spirit of a father of one of his groupies who killed herself because of him, and daddy ghost is more than a little angry.

This book is fantastically written and quite action packed for a ghost story. Joe Hill is probably one of my favourite horror writers and if you have not read his book Horns  yet you need to.

Heart Shaped Box is another adult book so it has strong language, graphic violence and sexual themes so if you don’t like that stuff don’t read it.

You can read my full review of it here.

What is your favourite book to read in October? I am always itching for a good horror novel so feel free to give me any recommendations.

2 comments on “Spooky Reads for Halloween

  1. saichebooks says:

    Thank you for the recommendations. Have you followed up with the second two books in the ring series? Each one made me say, “Wow, these books aren’t at all what I thought they were about.”

    • Book Mage says:

      I am yet to read the rest of The Ring series because I kept hearing very mixed things about them. Are they any good? Overall I have heard that they get increasingly odd.

Leave a Reply

